All information about our Founding Fathers comes from the U.S. National Archives, located at 700 Pennsylvania Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20408.

The original states, except Rhode Island, collectively appointed 70 individuals to the Constitutional Convention. A number of these individuals did not accept or could not attend includes Richard Henry Lee, Patrick Henry, Thomas Jefferson, John Adams, Samuel Adams and, John Hancock. In all, 55 delegates attended the Constitutional Convention sessions, but only 39 actually signed the Constitution. The delegates ranged in age from Jonathan Dayton, aged 26, to Benjamin Franklin, aged 81, who was so infirm that he had to be carried to sessions in a sedan chair.

It is important to not only put a face on each of these great men but to also take a moment and get to know who they were. Pause to look into their eyes and appreciate their wisdom.

They are listed below in alphabetical order. Please note: as each delegates name is a link to their biographical page. To the right of their name is the state they represented.

Abraham BaldwinGeorgia
Richard BassettDelaware
Gunning Bedford, Jr.Delaware
John BlairVirginia
William BlountNorth Carolina
David BrearlyNew Jersey
Jacob BroomDelaware
Pierce ButlerSouth Carolina
Daniel CarrollMaryland
George ClymerPennsylvania
William R. DavieNorth Carolina
Jonathan DaytonNew Jersey
John DickinsonDelaware
Oliver EllsworthDelaware
William FewConnecticut
Thomas FitzsimonsPennsylvania
Benjamin FranklinPennsylvania
Elbridge GerryMassachusetts
Nicolas GilmanNew Hampshire
Nathaniel GorhamMassachusetts
Alexander HamiltonNew York
William HoustonGeorgia
William C. HoustonNew Jersey
Jared IngersollPennsylvania
Daniel of St. Thomas JeniferMaryland
William Samuel JohnsonConnecticut
Rufus KingMassachusetts
John LangdonNew Hampshire
John Lansing, Jr.New York
William LivingstonNew Jersey
James Madison, Jr.Virginia
Luther MartinMaryland
Alexander MartinNorth Carolina
George MasonVirginia
James McClurgVirginia
James McHenryMaryland
John F. MercerMaryland
Thomas MifflinPennsylvania
Gouverneur MorrisPennsylvania
Robert MorrisPennsylvania
William PatersonNew Jersey
William L. PierceGeorgia
Charles PinckneySouth Carolina
Charles Cotesworth PinckneySouth Carolina
Edmund J. RandolphVirginia
George ReadDelaware
John RutledgeSouth Carolina
Roger ShermanConnecticut
Richard Dobbs SpaightNorth Carolina
Caleb StrongMassachusetts
George WashingtonVirginia
Hugh WilliamsonNorth Carolina
James WilsonPennsylvania
George WytheVirginia
Robert YatesNew York